1. What should I study?
  2. CHE Ranking
  3. Subjects
  4. Civil and Environmental Engineering
  5. HS Mainz
  6. Fachbereich Technik
Select your Ranking
Civil and Environmental Engineering, Department

Fachbereich Technik at the HS Mainz


Fachrichtung Bauingenieurwesen

  • Holzstraße 36
  • 55116 Mainz
  • Phone: +49 6131 628-1012
top group
middle group
bottom group
not grouped

Basic information

Teaching in core subjects
Teaching staff at the department 24
Percentage of teaching by practitioners 20.0 %

Support during the study entry phase

Total score for support in the study entry phase 6/14 points

International orientation

Outgoing students 0.0 %

Job market- and career-orientation

Bachelor theses in cooperation with work environment no data
Master theses in cooperation with work environment no data
Share of professors with work experience 100.0 %
Professors with own engineering company 40.0 %

Research

Third party funds per professor no data

Civil Engineering

Degree courses without details

Further degree courses of the department yes, please see department website
did you know?
About studying Civil and Environmental Engineering in Germany
About the subject

Further information provided by the department

  • Special features regarding teaching
    Experienced professors and assistant professors manage the modules, the lecture forms of learning are individually structured by the teachers based on the specific needs. In addition to pure teaching of knowledge in lectures, there is also practical implementation of the acquired knowledge in exercise classes and project groups. Many of the learning methods also teach key qualifications. Thus, in project groups, a key learning objective is the ability to work in a team and ability to structure complex tasks. In the lectures, students work partly in group work and seminar work.
  • Special features regarding the international orientation
    Currently there are young people from more than 60 countries enrolled at the University of Mainz. Of the approx. 5100 students at our university, some 640 students are from abroad. Some complete their entire degree course with us; some spend 1 or 2 semesters at the University Mainz under cooperation agreements. Students at our university have the opportunity to complete part of their studies at over 90 partner universities worldwide. With the Erasmus+ university charter, we have committed to complying with the mobility standards.
  • Exchange universities for stay abroads
    University of Dundee, Großbritannien; HAMK University of Applied Science, Finnland; The University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, Trinidad Tobago; Parul University, Gujarat, Indien; Universidad de Monterrey, Mexico; Universidad del Norte, Kolumbien; Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, Malaysia; Seoul National University of Technology, Südkorea; Swinburne University, Australien
  • Special features regarding the equipment
    Modern PC pools with special software for Structural Engineering, Construction Site Management, Traffic Planning and Geo-engineering; Modern laboratories used for teaching: Support Structures Construction lab, Hydraulic Engineering lab, Geo-engineering lab, Traffic Engineering lab, Chemistry and Physics lab; Extensive and up-to-date library stock; Workrooms for students.
  • Special features regarding research and development
    Joint institute of the research professors, iS-mainz; Research profile working group for all departments of the university; Research focus on innovative composite materials; Test centre for building materials MPA Mainz for industry research in the field of Reinforced Concrete Construction and Concrete Technology; Energy laboratory in the BIM subject area; One completed cooperative doctorate in the years 2015-2017
  • Support for founders
    Is available centrally for the entire university.
  • Other special features
    Many partnerships with international universities to complete semesters abroad, especially for the degree course in International Civil Engineering; Cooperation with German higher education institutions for Diploma, Bachelor's and Master's theses; 5 Bachelor's degree courses: Civil Engineering, International Civil Engineering, Technical Building Management and Industrial Engineering, Construction and Property Management/Facilities Management. 2 Master's degree courses: Technical Building Management, Civil Engineering; Possibility of choosing specialisations: Construction Site Management or Structural Engineering.
  • Further information on research activities
    https://www.hs-mainz.de/forschung/forschungsprofil/schwerpunkte/
top group
middle group
bottom group
not grouped
(S)-Students' judgements  (F)-Facts  (P)-Professors' judgements
(CE)= Civil Engineering (IntDiscip)= very interdisciplinary and thus not classified;
As the ranking is done for the whole subject area, for the single "sub-subjects" it can happen that not all rank groups are represented in all criteria.
Last update 2019: Data collected by the CHE Center for Higher Education.
Advertisement
Offers by the publisher
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren

1. Was soll ich studieren?
  2. CHE Hochschulranking
  3. Fächer
  4. Bau- und Umweltingenieurwesen
  5. HS Mainz
  6. Fachbereich Technik
Ranking wählen
Bau- und Umweltingenieurwesen, Fachbereich

Fachbereich Technik an der HS Mainz


Fachrichtung Bauingenieurwesen

Spitzengruppe
Mittelgruppe
Schlussgruppe
nicht gruppiert

Allgemeines

Lehrende in Kernbereichen
Lehrende am Fachbereich 24
Anteil Lehre durch Praktiker 20,0 %

Unterstützung am Studienanfang

Gesamtergebnis Unterstützung am Studienanfang 6/14 Punkten

Internationale Ausrichtung

Genutzte Auslandsplätze 0,0 %

Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsbezug

Abschlussarbeiten in Kooperation mit der Praxis, Bachelor keine Angaben
Abschlussarbeiten in Kooperation mit der Praxis, Master keine Angaben
Anteil Professoren mit nicht länger als 10 Jahre zurückliegender außerhochschulischer Berufserfahrung 100,0 %
Professoren mit eigenem Ingenieurbüro 40,0 %

Forschung

Forschungsgelder pro Professor keine Angaben

Bauingenieurwesen

Studiengänge ohne Detailinfos

Weitere Studiengänge am Fachbereich Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (Bau) (B.Eng.)
schon gewusst?
Über das Fach Bau- und Umweltingenieurwesen
Zum Fachporträt

Weitere Angaben des Fachbereichs

  • Besonderheiten in der Lehre
    Erfahrene Professoren und Lehrbeauftragte leiten die Module, die Veranstaltungsformen werden von den Lehrenden je nach den speziellen Gegebenheiten individuell ausgestaltet. Neben der reinen Wissensvermittlung in Vorlesungen wird das erworbene Wissen in Übungen und Projektgruppen praktisch umgesetzt. In vielen der Veranstaltungsformen werden auch Schlüsselqualifikationen vermittelt. So ist in Projektgruppen die Teamfähigkeit und die Strukturierung von komplexen Aufgaben ein wesentliches Lernziel. In den Vorlesungen arbeiten die Studierenden teilweise in Gruppen- und Seminararbeit.
  • Prüfungen im Bachelorstudium
    Prüfungen einmal pro Semester am Semesterende, Extratermine für Wiederholungsprüfungen
  • Prüfungen im Masterstudium
    Prüfungen einmal pro Semester am Ende des Semesters, Extratermine für Wiederholungsprüfungen
  • Orientierungsangebote für Studieninteressierte
    Infoveranstaltungen werden regelmäßig angeboten
  • Orientierungsangebote von Unternehmen
    Infoveranstaltungen werden regelmäßig angeboten
  • Maßnahmen zur Unterstützung in der Studieneingangsphase am Fachbereich insgesamt
    Vorkurse / Brückenkurse vor Studienbeginn, Kurse zum Erwerb studienrelevanter Kompetenzen/Schlüsselkompetenzen (z.B. Schreibwerkstatt, Selbstorganisation, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten), Semesterbegleitende Rückmeldung des Lernerfolgs (z.B. Zwischentests mit individuellen Korrekturen/Besprechungen), Beratungsgespräche, Beratung zur individuellen Studienverlaufsplanung, Frühwarnsysteme mit Beratung, Begleitendes individuelles Coaching, Erstsemester-Tutorien, Professorale Mentoren (auch Doktoranden, Postdocs).
  • Besonderheiten in der Internationalen Ausrichtung
    Zur Zeit sind an der Hochschule Mainz junge Leute aus mehr als 60 Nationen immatrikuliert. Von den rund 5100 Studierenden an unserer Hochschule kommen ca. 640 Studierende aus dem Ausland. Teilweise absolvieren sie ihr gesamtes Studium bei uns, teilweise studieren sie im Rahmen von Kooperationsabkommen 1 oder 2 Semester an der Hochschule Mainz. Studierende unserer Hochschule haben die Möglichkeit an über 90 Partnerhochschulen weltweit einen Teil ihres Studiums zu absolvieren. Mit der Erasmus+ Universitätscharta haben wir uns verpflichtet, die Mobilitätsstandards einzuhalten.
  • Häufigste Austauschhochschulen für einen Auslandsaufenthalt
    University of Dundee, Großbritannien; HAMK University of Applied Science, Finnland; The University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, Trinidad Tobago; Parul University, Gujarat, Indien; Universidad de Monterrey, Mexico; Universidad del Norte, Kolumbien; Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, Malaysia; Seoul National University of Technology, Südkorea; Swinburne University, Australien
  • Besonderheiten in der Ausstattung
    Moderne PC-Pools mit Spezialsoftware für Konstruktiven Ingenieurbau, Baubetrieb, Facilitymanagement, Verkehrsplanung, Geotechnik; moderne Labore mit Einsatz in der Lehre: Tragwerksbaulabor, Wasserbaulabor, Geotechniklabor, Verkehrsbaulabor, Chemie- und Physiklabor; aktueller umfangreicher Bibliotheksbestand; Arbeitsräume für Studierende.
  • Besonderheiten in der Forschung & Entwicklung
    Gemeinsames Institut der forschenden Professoren, iS-mainz; Arbeitsgemeinschaft Forschungsprofil für alle Fachbereiche der Hochschule; Forschungsschwerpunkt Innovative Verbundwerkstoffe; Prüfstelle für Baustoffe MPA Mainz für Industrieforschung im Bereich Stahlleichtbau und Betontechnologie; Energielabor der Fachrichtung BIM; eine abgeschlossene kooperative Promotion in den Jahren 2015-2017
  • Unterstützung von Unternehmensgründungen
    Ist zentral für die gesamte Hochschule vorhanden.
  • Sonstige Besonderheiten
    Zahlreiche Kooperationen mit Universitäten im Ausland zur Absolvierung von Auslandssemestern, speziell für den Studiengang Internationales Bauingenieurwesen; Kooperationen mit deutschen Hochschulen im Rahmen von Diplom-, Bachelor,- und Masterarbeiten; 5 Bachelorstudiengänge: Bauingenieurwesen, Internationales Bauingenieurwesen, Technisches Gebäudemanagement, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Bau- und Immobilienmanagement / Facilities Management. 2 Masterstudiengänge: Technisches Gebäudemanagement, Bauingenieurwesen; Möglichkeit der Wahl von Schwerpunkten: Baubetrieb oder Konstruktiver Ingenieurbau.
  • Weitere Informationen zur Forschung
    https://www.hs-mainz.de/forschung/forschungsprofil/schwerpunkte/
Spitzengruppe
Mittelgruppe
Schlussgruppe
nicht gruppiert
(S)=Studierenden-Urteil   (F)=Fakten   (P)=Professoren-Urteil
(Bau)= Bauingenieurwesen (IntDisz)= wegen starker Interdisziplinarität nicht zugeordnet
Datenstand 2019; Daten erhoben vom CHE Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung. Auf dessen Seiten findet sich auch eine ausführliche Beschreibung der CHE Ranking-Methodik.
Anzeige
Verlagsangebot
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren