1. What should I study?
  2. CHE Ranking
  3. University towns in Germany and Austria
  4. Aachen
  5. Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
Select your Ranking
University

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen



  • Templergraben 55
  • 52062 Aachen
  • Phone: +49 241 80-1
General remarks
This University is also featured in the U-Multirank world university rankings.

Basic information

Kind of Institution and funding body University, public
Year of foundation 1870
Total number of Students 47,362
Students at this campus 47,362
Semester contribution 300,19 € *
Tuition fees There are no study fees.

Students by area of study

Medicine, Health Science
6.2 %
Natural Sciences, Mathematics
16.0 %
Law, Economic and Social Sciences
7.6 %
Humanities, Languages
4.5 %
Engineering Science (incl. Computer Science)
65.7 %
Other studies
0.0 %

Students by type of degree pursued

Bachelor's degree
56.0 %
Master's degree
33.1 %
Teacher qualification degree
4.5 %
Pre-Bologna degrees
5.6 %
Other types of degrees
0.8 %

Central services

Opening hours central student counselling
- more information
Special features regarding the library
Services: The library system consists of the university library and decentralised specialist libraries; Main areas of focus in engineering and natural sciences; High proportion of electronic media (books, journals, databases); Extensive courses and guidance on academic resources (research) and work tools (literature management programs); Patent and standards centre with spec. offers (order searches); Extensive offers in acad. publishing (institutional RWTH repository, open-access); Bibliometrics services; Training and guidance on research data management more information
Foreign language center and courses
There is a foreign language centre. Languages offered: English, French, German as a foreign language, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Swedish, Polish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Latin, Turkish, Arabic, Dutch, Korean. more information
Special features regarding university sports
The university offers its own sports programme. The students of the RWTH Aachen may participate in all sports programmes of the NRW institutions of higher education. Some courses are free of charge, some subject to fees. University sports in Aachen offers 2,500 instructed courses in over 90 sports and 14 events a year; illuminated running track, 1,060 m in length; 3 cage soccer artificial turf fields with flood lighting; 2 outdoor fitness facilities; multi-purpose beach sports facility, 6 courts; University fitness centre, with 65 endurance machines and 140 strength-training stations distributed across 1,050 m²; Own water-sports centre; RWTH and FH-Pausenexpress: 150 courses for 1,000 staff, 50 courses for 1,500 students; distinct health-oriented offers, numerous European partnerships. more information
Last update 2022: Data collected by the CHE Center for Higher Education.
Offers by the publisher
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren

1. Was soll ich studieren?
  2. CHE Hochschulranking
  3. Orte
  4. Aachen
  5. Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
CHE Hochschulranking
 
Hochschulinformationen

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen



  • Templergraben 55
  • 52062 Aachen
  • Telefon: +49 241 80-1
Bemerkung
Diese Hochschule ist auch im internationalen Hochschulranking U-Multirank enthalten.

Allgemeines

Hochschultyp und Trägerschaft Universität, öffentlich
Gründungsjahr 1870
Studierende der Hochschule insgesamt 44.546
Studierende der Hochschule an diesem Standort 44.546
Studiengebühren Es fallen keine Studiengebühren an.
Semesterbeitrag 257,17 € *

Studienrichtungen

Medizin, Gesundheitswissenschaften
6,7 %
Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik
16,0 %
Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften
6,7 %
Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften, Psychologie
5,5 %
Ingenieurwissenschaften (inkl. Informatik)
65,0 %
Sonstige
0,0 %

Abschlussarten

Bachelor
55,8 %
Master
31,1 %
Diplom, Magister, Staatexamen
5,9 %
Sonstige Abschlüsse
7,1 %

Zentrale Einrichtungen

Besonderheiten Bibliothek
Bibliothekssystem aus Zentralbibliothek und dezentralen Fachbibliotheken; Angebotsschwerpunkte im Bereich Ingenieur-und Naturwissenschaften; hoher Anteil elektronischer Medien (Bücher, Zeitschriften, Datenbanken); umfangreiches Kurs- und Beratungsangebot zu wissenschaftlichen Ressourcen (Recherchen) und Arbeitsinstrumenten (Literaturverwaltungsprogramme); Patent- und Normenzentrum mit spezialisierten Angeboten (Auftragsrecherchen); umfangreiche und differenzierte Angebote zum wissenschaftlichen Publizieren (institutionelles repository der RWTH, open-access, Bibliometrie, Forschungsdaten). weitere Informationen
Fremdsprachenkurse
Es gibt ein Fremdsprachenzentrum. Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch, Italienisch, Polnisch, Russisch, Chinesisch, Japanisch, Latein, Türkisch, Arabisch, Niederländisch, Schwedisch, Norwegisch, Koreanisch, Deutsch als Fremdsprache. weitere Informationen
Besonderheiten Hochschulsport
Die Hochschule bietet ein eigenes Sportprogramm an. Die Teilnahme ist teils kostenfrei, teils kostenpflichtig. Die Studierenden der RWTH Aachen dürfen an allen Sportprogrammen der NRW-Hochschulen teilnehmen. Der Hochschulsport in Aachen bietet 2.500 angeleitete Kurse in über 90 Sportarten und 14 Events im Jahr; beleuchtete Finnbahn, 1.060 m Länge; 3 Cage-Soccer-Felder (Kunstrasen mit Beleuchtung); multifunktionale Beachsportanlage, 6 Plätze; hochschuleigenes Fitnesszentrum mit 65 Ausdauer- und 140 Krafttrainingsstationen, 1.050 qm Trainingsfläche; 2 Outdoor Fitness Anlagen; eigenes Wassersportzentrum; RWTH und FH-Pausenexpress: 150 Kurse für 1.000 Bedienstete, 50 Kurse für 1.500 Studierende; ausgeprägte gesundheitsorientierte Angebote, zahlreiche europäische Partnerschaften. weitere Informationen
Datenstand 2018; Daten erhoben vom CHE Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung.
Eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Methodik findest du im CHE Ranking Methodenwiki.
Verlagsangebot
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren