1. What should I study?
  2. CHE Ranking
  3. University towns in Germany and Austria
  4. Berlin
  5. Freie Universität Berlin
Select your Ranking
University

Freie Universität Berlin



  • Kaiserswerther Straße 16-18
  • 14195 Berlin
  • Phone: +49 30 838-1
General remarks
This University is also featured in the U-Multirank world university rankings.

Basic information

Kind of Institution and funding body University, public
Year of foundation 1948
Total number of Students 37,102
Students at this campus 37,102
Semester contribution 312,89 € *
Tuition fees There are no study fees.

Students by area of study

Medicine, Health Science
0.0 %
Natural Sciences, Mathematics
19.6 %
Law, Economic and Social Sciences
35.4 %
Humanities, Languages
26.9 %
Engineering Science (incl. Computer Science)
5.7 %
Other studies
12.5 %

Students by type of degree pursued

Bachelor's degree
41.8 %
Master's degree
24.6 %
Teacher qualification degree
20.1 %
Pre-Bologna degrees
11.7 %
Other types of degrees
1.9 %

Central services

Opening hours central student counselling
- more information
Special features regarding the library
Locations: The university library at FU supplies the members of the FU community with information and information infrastructure through a central library and 10 departmental libraries.; Stock: The university library comprises a total of around 7.9 m printed media units, approx. 75,000 E-Journals, more than 750,000 E-Books and 2,000 databases.; Services: Acquires, catalogues, accounts for, maintains media; Responsible for stock management, digitalisation, archiving, local and interlibrary loans, information services; Provides orientation in literature and information offers; Promotes information and media skills; Advises and assists instructors/students in digital teaching, learning and examination scenarios; Guides and develops learning-space offers; Responsible for E-Research, digital humanities, open access, research data management; Maintains the university archives; Coordinates university collections more information
Foreign language center and courses
There is a foreign language centre. Languages offered: English, French, German as a foreign language, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Polish, Russian, Japanese, Turkish, Arabic, Dutch, Persian. more information
Special features regarding university sports
The university offers its own sports programme. Students attending the institution can participate in the sports programme of the HTW Berlin University of Applied Sciences, Humboldt University of Berlin (HUB), Technischen Universität Berlin (TU Berlin), and University of Applied Sciences (BHT). Participation is subject to fees. The central facility for university sports of the Free University of Berlin offers a wide range of sports, workshops and sports trips as well as a differentiated program in the field of health promotion for all university members. We also promote the dual career for enrolled top-class athletes, participating with courses of our own, and are committed to the field of sustainability. Sports: Taking the university mission statement into account, each semester we arrange a comprehensive and high-quality selection of courses in more than 120 types of sports and involving up to 800 individual events per semester. more information
Last update 2022: Data collected by the CHE Center for Higher Education.
Offers by the publisher
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren

1. Was soll ich studieren?
  2. CHE Hochschulranking
  3. Orte
  4. Berlin
  5. Freie Universität Berlin
Ranking wählen
Hochschulinformationen

Freie Universität Berlin



  • Kaiserswerther Straße 16-18
  • 14195 Berlin
  • Telefon: +49 30 838-1
Bemerkung
Diese Hochschule ist auch im internationalen Hochschulranking U-Multirank enthalten.

Allgemeines

Hochschultyp und Trägerschaft Universität, öffentlich
Gründungsjahr 1948
Studierende der Hochschule insgesamt 37.102
Studierende der Hochschule an diesem Standort 37.102
Semesterbeitrag 312,89 € *
Studiengebühren Es fallen keine Studiengebühren an.

Studierende nach Studienrichtungen

Medizin, Gesundheitswissenschaften
0,0 %
Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik
19,6 %
Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften
35,4 %
Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften
26,9 %
Ingenieurwissenschaften (inkl. Informatik)
5,7 %
Sonstige
12,5 %

Studierende nach angestrebtem Abschluss

Bachelor
41,8 %
Master
24,6 %
Lehramtsprüfung
20,1 %
Diplom, Magister, Staatexamen
11,7 %
Sonstige Abschlüsse
1,9 %

Zentrale Einrichtungen

Öffnungszeiten Zentrale Studienberatung
Mo. 10:00-13:00 Uhr, Di. per Video: 14:00-16:00 Uhr, Mi. Telefonisch: 14:00-16:00 Uhr, Do. 14:00-17:00 Uhr, Fr. telefonisch: 10:00-12:00 Uhr weitere Informationen
Besonderheiten Bibliothek
Standorte: Die Universitätsbibliothek der FU versorgt mit einer Zentralbibliothek und 10 Fachbibliotheken die Angehörigen der FU mit Information und Informationsinfrastruktur.; Bestand: Die Universitätsbibliothek umfasst einen Gesamtbestand von etwa 7,9 Mio. gedruckten Medieneinheiten, ca. 75.000 E-Journals, über 750.000 E-Books und rund 2.000 Datenbanken.; Service: Erwirbt, erschließt, weist nach, pflegt Medien; zuständig für Bestandsmanagement, Digitalisierung, Archivierung, Orts- und Fernleihe, Auskunftsdienste; bietet Orientierung im Literatur- und Informationsangebot; fördert Informations- und Medienkompetenz; berät und unterstützt Lehrende/Studierende bei digitalen Lehr-, Lern- und Prüfungsszenarien; betreut und entwickelt Lernraumangebote; zuständig für die Themen E-Research, Digital Humanities, Open Access, Forschungsdatenmanagement; führt das Universitätsarchiv; koordiniert die Universitätssammlungen weitere Informationen
Fremdsprachenzentrum und Fremdsprachenkurse
Es gibt ein Fremdsprachenzentrum. Angebotene Sprachen: Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch als Fremdsprache, Spanisch, Portugiesisch, Italienisch, Polnisch, Russisch, Japanisch, Türkisch, Arabisch, Niederländisch, Persisch. weitere Informationen
Besonderheiten Hochschulsport
Die Hochschule bietet ein eigenes Sportprogramm an. Für die eigenen Studierenden ist eine Teilnahme am Sportprogramm der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (HTW), Humboldt Universität zu Berlin (HUB), Technischen Universität Berlin (TUB) und Hochschule für Technik Berlin (BHT) möglich. Die Teilnahme ist kostenpflichtig. Die Zentraleinrichtung Hochschulsport der Freien Universität Berlin bietet neben einem breit gefächerten Angebot von Sportarten, Workshops und Sportreisen ein ausdifferenziertes Programm im Bereich der Gesundheitsförderung für alle Universitätsangehörigen an. Zudem fördern wir die Duale Karriere für studierende Spitzensportler*innen, beteiligen uns mit eigenen Lehrveranstaltungen und engagieren uns im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit. Sportarten: Unter Berücksichtigung des Leitbildes der Universität gestalten wir jedes Semester ein umfangreiches und qualitativ hochwertiges Kursangebot in mehr als 120 Sportarten und mit bis zu 800 Einzelveranstaltungen pro Semester. weitere Informationen
Datenstand 2022; Daten erhoben vom CHE Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung. Auf dessen Seiten findet sich auch eine ausführliche Beschreibung der CHE Ranking-Methodik.
Verlagsangebot
Studienorientierung
Zeit Studienführer

Mehr Infos zum Ranking und rund um das Thema Studienwahl gibt es hier zum Nachlesen. Mehr erfahren